Losing the Battle…

October 6, 2009

I heard this quote this morning on NPR:

“The world breaks everyone, and afterward, some are strong at the broken places. ” – Ernest Hemingway, A Farewell to Arms.

I had forgotten about this book and this quote having read it YEARS ago.  When the person being interviewed said the quote, he was referencing his own war experiences.  He mistakenly thought the quote was a reflection of the character “Henry” and, by extension, Hemingway’s experience of being wounded in a mortar attack in Italy during World War I.

In fact, the quote is made by the character “Henry” in reference to his son being born still, not war.  I realized as I was driving that while the interviewee attributed the quote to the wrong loss for the main character, death of our boys was like a battle.  It was like a war.  I’m hurt, I’m bruised and bloodied.  Hubby is wounded – there exists collateral damage in our life.  There is tremendous loss and a deep well of anger.  There are days when The Battle of Grief and Loss is more costly than any other war I can think of…There are days when I’m sure I’m losing The Battle and those are days I am grateful for The Silent Army…

I just wish The Battle would end soon….

5 Responses to “Losing the Battle…”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Oh, wow – I had totally forgotten that about that book. I’m sure when I read it (in high school?) that I had no idea what that type of loss would be like. It is an interesting analogy for sure – the Battle of Grief and Loss. Perhaps it can be helpful to think that, even when you feel like you’re losing the battle, the battle is just one component of the war. And the war is still ongoing. You’re still fighting for your future family.

  2. Amy Says:

    That is a powerful quote – I may add it to my favorites on goodreads.

    Big hugs on this gray drippy day.

  3. Michele Says:

    That quote gave me chills… I wish the Battle would end. I wish there was some way to win it but the only answer I’ve found is to never have had to fight in the first place…

  4. iamstacey Says:

    please let the battle end…for everyone!

  5. kcmom14 Says:

    It is a war. It is a battle. You have won. Your boys have won. They live on everday in you, through you, because of you and because people like me have been changed and touched because of them.


Leave a Reply

