Honest Scrap Award!

August 27, 2009

Honest+Scrap
I have been given the Honest Scrap Award by Amy at Surviving the Day! Thanks! 

1. Choose a minimum of 7 blogs who you find brilliant in content or design.

2. Show the 7 winners’ names and links on your blog, and leave a comment informing them that they have won the Honest Scrap award. 
 
Uninterrupted Prosperity http://kpfeifer.blogspot.com/
Diary of a Miracle http://diaryofamiracle.wordpress.com/
Diaries of a Jaded Heart http://diariesofajadedheart.wordpress.com/
Living Without Sophia and Ellie http://livingwithoutsophiaandellie.blogspot.com/
A Fifth Season http://afifthseason.blogspot.com/
Developmental Delays http://booferd.blogspot.com/
Baby Bound http://babybound.wordpress.com/
 
3. List at least 10 honest things about yourself.
 
Hmmmm…..this is tough.  I think I’m pretty honest on my blog but here are a couple of things you may not know about me that are not necessary related to losing the boys.
 
1. I go to bed really early if given the opportunity – seriously, like 7pm is not unusual for me.  I am not a great sleeper so if I feel like it’s going to happen, I go to bed.
2. I secretly wanted to be a medical examiner – actually still do but I can’t afford medical school along with adoption fees and law school loans.
3. I played a bunch of different musical instuments in high school but I don’t play anything now.  I would love to pick up the violin or mandolin.
4. I love reading menus – I was probably a chef in another life.  I like eating food, preparing food, presenting food.  I love to see what ingredients chefs have paired with each other and see if I can take those and make my own dish.  My love affair with food began at an early age because I was a vegetarian from age 9 to age 28 and I think I started cooking out of self-defense.
5. I was bullied in junior high school and it deeply effected the way that I view myself even today, nearly 15 years later.  I have little tolerance now for adults who make fun of other people, call them names, or attempt to bully others.
6. I was TERRIFIED of Big Bird as a child – there is something SERIOUSLY wrong with a 6 foot tall bird that likes children, why am I the only one who sees this?
7. I was almost kidnapped at the age of 9 while walking home from school.  A man in a white van tried to get me in his car and that little inner voice that police officers tell you about started screaming, “run!  run!  run!” and I did. 
8. I’m make the world’s best guacamole. Seriously. The world’s best. I would love to market it and make millions but don’t have a head for business.
9. My favorite job was working for the City of Los Angeles and I haven’t had a job since that I have liked as much.  I fear that I will never have another job that I enjoyed as much as that one and that I am stuck in a job I dislike.  I am convinced that other people are completely and totally satisfied with their careers and I am very jealous of that.
10. I got “forgotten” on a school bus when I was 6 years old – new driver drove right past my house and I was too shy to speak up so I just rode the bus around for about 2 hours until my frantic mother contacted the bus yard and they returned me home.
11. I look at my husband and think that I don’t deserve him.  I wonder why he married me and how I got so lucky.
12. I am truly terrified of two things – being homeless and not holding my own living baby.
7 Responses to “Honest Scrap Award!”

  1. stacey Says:

    It was fun learning new things about you. People really appreciate good guacamole where I live in Texas. I just recently started making my own, which I think is pretty good, but it sounds like it doesn’t compare to yours! I keep it pretty simple. Oh, and I can’t stand bullies either. They have serious issues — picking on others to make themselves feel better. 😦

  2. irishdad Says:

    It is good to learn a few things about you.

    I like menu’s too, and I love to read wine lists – I have downloaded lists from all over scattered on my computer.

    I think bullying is terrible and am glad that as children we didn’t have to deal with the kind of antics that go on today between kids using mobile phones and social media. Mean people seem to have a lot more means of attack now than they did in the past.

  3. looking4#3 Says:

    So, in reading the 12 new things about you….I just want to know more!!! You sound so incredibly intriguing and interesting. After reading those 12 (aside from the fact that I read your whole blog in one day), I wish I knew you IRL.
    And, if I did know you IRL, and when you were little, I would have been your friend and never bullied you!!!
    You will never be homeless and you WILL hold your babies and raise them—til you are a ripe old age!!!

  4. iamstacey Says:

    I love going to bed early! 🙂
    LOL I never thought of Big Bird as a pedophile, but I can see it now! The Skeezix – a character in the Candyland game – always scared the hell outta me. As does the fear that I’ll never get to meet my own baby!

  5. Kelly Says:

    Oh, gosh, thanks for passing along the award to me! 🙂 I loved your list, too – it’s funny, we get to know big things about one another in blogland, but not the little things that we would learn IRL.

  6. Jaded Says:

    Thanks for the Honest Scrap Award – you are definitely worthy of it yourself.

    Awww – you must have been such a sweet little girl being all shy and all.

    I love guacamole. I wish i could try yours.
    Good for you on listening to that inner voice – as such a young age too. But seriously – what is is about white vans and abductors – they always seem to be in those vans.

    Here, here – my greatest fear is not to hold our own biological child in my and my husband’s arms.


Leave a Reply

