Poem

July 20, 2009

My friend, T, she’s my sorority sister and one of my people.  She’s lost 2 little girls (at separate times,  no less).  She sent me this in response to my last posting.  I thought I would share.  I’m thinking that I will take some of the suggestions and finish their baby book with the ultrasound pictures and the cards – maybe find a box to put it all in.  I can do this when Hubby is out of town next week…I haven’t heard from J, I will keep you posted as to what she says…if the answer is no, I might make a plea to all my crafty and creative readers to help me with this….

My Child

You left this life too soon, my child.
Your arrival to our family was greatly anticipated.
We cherished the opportunity t o share our love
And watch you grow and become your own person.
But you were taken from us too soon.

We will go on without you, although it will be difficult.
You will be missed and loved for as long as we live.
May we be together on the other side of this life.
A star will always shine brightly in our hearts for you.
Thank you for blessing our lives even so briefly.

Goodbye, my dear child!

4 Responses to “Poem”

  1. Kelly Says:

    That’s a really lovely poem. Maybe you could print it out and frame it? Or find some place special where you could refer to it from time to time?

  2. iamstacey Says:

    The baby book is a wonderful idea! Find a pretty box to keep everything together so you can re-visit your boys anytime. I hope you can get the certificates done!

  3. Jaded Says:

    one should never say goodbye to their child – that should be at the top of the list of things that should never EVER happen…

    i love the poem.

  4. Christy Says:

    I love this poem! I think what you’re doing is great and I really hope it helps to bring you a little peace and a little hope. I can’t remember where you live, but do you have the store Hobby Lobby? I found so many really cool boxes there, and I picked one that looked like a cool wooden small treasure chest for the memory box for my babies. Anyway, I am a little crafty and have a cricut (a diecutting machine) so if you have anything you want made, I would be glad to do it!
    xx


Leave a Reply

