I’m A Druggie.

May 4, 2009

Hubby and I just got back from the RE.  Dr. S prescribed us 3 months of Clomid.  We presented our case with controlled fervor and vehemence including supporting evidence but without getting overly emotionally ($100k worth of law school finally paid off in my closing argument to my RE…who would have thought?).  She needed a minute to wrap her head around the idea since this is not the approved treatment for a balanced translocation.  She wanted to make sure that we understood the increased risk for multiples (which is way low with Clomid but increased for me because of my previous history of splitting eggs) but in the end, she saw no reason not to try it for 3 months.  The big selling point for her was that we were open to starting with Clomid rather than an injectible.  The injectible drugs hyperstimulate a large number follicles which is why you get 6-7 follicles dropping.  Clomid is more likely to stimulate 2 or 3 at the maximum.  Less chances for a litter. 

I did promise her that if we were successful with twins, that was it.  I was done.  I would never set foot in that office again. 

See, I’m not greedy, I just want a baby.

16 Responses to “I’m A Druggie.”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Yay for Clomid! Hopefully it will be the little bit of an extra boost to help you on your journey. Good luck!

  2. iamstacey Says:

    Good luck on your efforts with Clomid! I’m getting ready for round 2.

  3. KB Says:

    A friend of mine at work had 2 early m/c, just a couple days after 6w. She took Clomid, got pregnant and now she’s in her 3rd trimester with one healthy baby. I know you have other issues, but…good things happen.

    Wishing you all the best!

    • mkwewer Says:

      That’s great news. Hopefully this will give me more eggs and therefore more chances to have one healthy egg fertilize…how are you?

  4. brown-eyed-girl Says:

    I’m so glad that your Dr is on board. Good luck!!!

  5. Amy Says:

    Wooo Hooo! I really hope this works for you.

  6. Cindy Says:

    Yay! Hope that it works for you, and quickly!

  7. Frances Says:

    This is great news!!! I’m so happy to hear it! I knew you could convince her!

  8. Tarah Says:

    Wishing you all the luck with Clomid. Clomid didn’t work for us – all my clomid cycles were BFN’s, but I’m hoping that it does the trick for you.

    Thinking of you.

  9. Jaded Says:

    good luck, i hope it works as planned!

  10. Kate Says:

    I have PCOS and my doc has put me on Metformin. I conceived after two months on it but miscarried a month ago at 11 weeks. I try to talk to my doc about Clomid because it took me a YEAR to get pregnant, but she keeps dismissing it since I did get pregnanton Metformin…. I’m also a lawyer, I guess I need to flex those skills. Sigh.

    Good luck to you. We’re all rooting for you.

  11. JJ Says:

    Hoping for you!

  12. iamstacey Says:

    just checking in to say “hello” and “keep writing!”


Leave a Reply

