I Knew I Wasn’t Infertile…

January 27, 2009

I liked the RE, Dr. S, despite the fact that she didn’t hand over a magical pill as I was hoping.  She was really nice and really compassionate – which is good since I am stuck with her until I am 10 weeks pregnant – whenever that is.  No more Dr. T.  At the first sign of “oh, I think I might be pregnant” I get to go to the shiny-quiet-no-16-year-old-teen-mother place for an immediate blood draw and ultrasound.  Do not pass “Go,” do not sit next to 3 month pregnant woman saying, “people say getting pregnant is hard, it just happened for me!” to get my blood drawn.  Being labelled RPL has it’s advantages, I guess.

Dr. S said that she was concerned about all the chemical pregnancies (another one this month) and miscarriage (finally someone else who is concerned) so she ordered a hydro-sonogram which is exactly what it sounds like – water into the uterus through a cathater and then a transvaginal ultrasound.  She wants to make sure that nothing is going on with the lining of my uterus (like scar tissue or fibroids).   When I delivered the boys, the doctor had a hard time removing all of the placenta so they really dug in there (God Bless Dr. Lee and her tiny Asian hands).  Ever since, I have had cramping when I ovulate (yes, I know uterus and tubes are different things) but I have always worried that there was some scarring but no one would listen.  Well, Dr. S. listened to me and ordered this test.

While she did want to take a look at my uterus, she agrees that more than likely we can blame the genetic issue and that we just need to keep at it and that the only way we will not get a baby is if we stop trying.  She said that she doesn’t want to give me drugs because I am obviously fertile.  All the tests that my girlfriend suggested were done when I was in the hospital delivering, I just didn’t know it.  All were negative.  Dr. S. is concerned that drugs will hyper-stimulate the ovaries to produce more than one egg at a time and increase our chance of twins again. 

There was a spirited discussion between me, Hubby, and Dr. S.  If there are two eggs and one egg is genetically viable and one is not, we have just increased our chances of a viable pregnancy two-fold, right?  Technically, yes, but she doesn’t want to take the chance of twins for both physical and emotional reasons.  I didn’t know how to not sound ungrateful about her concern for my mental health but I would rather have 2 babies at once and never have to try and get pregnant again then have a baby and in a year go through another round of miscarriages until I had another baby.  We compromised with a 6 months timeline to revisit the drugs.

Also, she said that she didn’t recommend the pre-implantation genetic diagnosis with IVF (which is good because it is $20k and we totally can’t afford it).  It’s not 100% and statistically, it’s really not better than trying on our own.  That made me feel better since I was trying to figure out who to borrow $20k from and was drawing a complete blank.

All in all, it was a good visit.  She told us that we needed counseling, that a support person would be essential to us not losing hope.  The person she recommended doesn’t take our insurance and Hubby gets like 30 visits a year under his plan so it’s really silly not to use an “in-network” person….I’m off to search for a new counselor.

Sigh.  I am hopeful though.  I feel like I have to be.

4 Responses to “I Knew I Wasn’t Infertile…”

  1. Frances Says:

    Well it sounds like you’ve made some significant strides forward with this dr. And she reminded you that you can and most likely will have a full term baby. I’m glad you found such an understanding and pro-active dr.

  2. iambrowneyedgirl Says:

    I’m glad you have a new Dr. that you like. It’s nice to have a plan.

  3. whataboutmyeggs Says:

    I’m so glad to hear that the RE went well. I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for you and your DH. Your Dr sounds very optimistic, which can only be good news. Good luck!

  4. Jaded Says:

    i feel better just reading this. i love the tiny-Asian-hands lady…ahhh

    i have also noticed that ever since Daniella, I tend to cramp big time when i ovulate and that never happend before.

    Girl, i hear you on the keep trying until you succeed business. my meckel gruber can’t be ruled out until the late first trimester so i understand that dilemma.

    i also spoke to my gyno about the possibility of take fertility drugs to conceive quicker/more babies. but like you because i am fertile she shares the same concerns of your doctor.

    no worries, it’s going to happne for us.
    you’ll see.


Leave a Reply

