I Laughed.

January 21, 2009

I truly laughed for the first time yesterday.  I have been feeling a lot better, not so sad all the time.  I have good days and bad days but it seems like the good have really outweighed the bad.  After the first of the year, I had this sort of peace come over me.  I can’t explain it.  It was a hopefulness and relaxation that I just seemed to be able to settle into.

Yesterday, Hubby and I got a snow day.  Here in NC, it’s very unusual to get significant amounts of snow.  We got 6 inches.  There was no going to work for me and therefore, Hubby had to entertain me.  I made french toast for breakfast, we watched the inauguration, had some soup and then went to the park to let the dogs run in the snow.  Those of you who know me know that I am from San Diego.  That means snow is something in a cone, ice belongs in a glass with Bourbon and a cherry.  I love it, I just don’t get it.

So Hubby and I had ourselves a “snow-down.”  I threw snowballs at him, he threw me down in the snow and tried to bury me.  It was fun.

And I laughed without thinking about anything.  I just laughed.

8 Responses to “I Laughed.”

  1. whataboutmyeggs Says:

    I’m soo happy to hear about your good days. Its sounds like the snow day did a lot of good for you. Here’s to more snow, and a little ice…in bourbon of coarse. Hope you find more and more things to smile about.

    Thank you for your sweet comment, it really helped.

  2. iambrowneyedgirl Says:

    Glad that you’ve found something to laugh at. If you really like snow you should come to my place. It snows 3 out of every 4 days and the snow banks from shoveling are now taller than I am!

  3. tntstanifer Says:

    That sounds like an AWESOME day!!

  4. Frances Says:

    That is just wonderful to hear. Tuesday Jan 20th 2009 just keeps getting better and better!

  5. Freda Says:

    Good for you and I’M JEALOUS! It sounds like a great day. I wish I could have watched the inauguration.

  6. Amy Says:

    The snow is fun, huh? Rare, but great when it happens! I threw snowballs for my dog, who thinks they are the best thing ever to try and catch! I originate from Florida, so snow is a total novelty for me too!

    It is a strong peace when it comes after grief I think. I know I had never felt such a filling calm before Liam. It is fleeting, like all things in life, but I am glad you appreciate it while it’s there. I am glad you laughed and enjoyed yourself.

  7. hisaak Says:

    I am so happy to hear about the laugh – what a huge thing, hey? Baby steps forward 🙂

  8. Jaded Says:

    awww you made me all teary-eyed.
    aren’t these rare moments just wonderful?
    my husband and i just finished having the most wonderful weekend ourselves!

    btw, you can come over hear and make us french toast!

    yum.


Leave a Reply

