Therapy

January 6, 2009

So I finally reached out to a therapist this week.  About a month and a half ago, I did a little research and found a woman that deals with loss and grief and fertility.  Perfect right?  I finally emailed her yesterday and her response was that didn’t schedule appointments after 5pm or on Saturdays.  I guess she will only see you if you have loss and grief and fertility issues from 9-5pm and Monday through Friday.  She referred me to two other people in her practice, neither of whom are remotely qualified to handle anything that I am dealing with.  Lest you think I am full of myself, let me tell you, I don’t think that I am some special case that needs to be handled with the biggest brain or the most education however, they were both really wrong choices for me.  One had extensive experience with child behavior issues and that other was a sexual abuse counselor.  My babies died and I can’t seem to stay pregnant and I’m feeling a little nuts about that.  I’m not a doctor but I just don’t see the connection.

I hate this.  It took me 3 weeks to work myself up to actually contacting her and now she’s brushed me off.  I guess I expected her to be more compassionate than that.  And yes, I understand it was an email and she could be the nicest person on the planet but the tone of her email was very abrupt.  And things that I used to say, “oh well” to now make me sad and angry much faster than they did before I lost the boys.  It something I need to deal with – maybe with the help of a therapist (ha! I do have a sense of humor left).

But I am determined not to “play the victim” anymore (see that, Jaded, moving forward in 2009, right?).  Onward to find a new therapist who will see me outside of a 9-5pm setting.

3 Responses to “Therapy”

  1. Frances Says:

    It’s amazing to me that Therapists can actually be quite insensitive. Unfortunately you are not alone in your experience so I’m sure there are other MORE QUALIFIED therapists that can help you. But don’t give up on them. I’ve seen what they can do. But it takes the right one.

  2. Karla Says:

    Poooooo, I say! That is very frustrating. I never understood why medical offices in general aren’t open on Saturdays or Sundays (heck, they could even be closed on Mondays or something.) I would suggest Yelp.com or Kudzu.com, but I understand if you want a personal referral, not a website. Good luck in your search. I hope you find the right person because therapy can be really helpful.

  3. Melissa C Says:

    Shame on her for being insensitive! Keep on looking and you’ll find the right therapist for you – keeping my fingers crossed for you.


Leave a Reply

