Survived Thanksgiving

December 1, 2008

Since this blog is all about my ability to survive things that have happened this past year (blah), I thought I would let you all know that yes, indeed, I survived Thanksgiving with my family.  Hubby and I left Thursday morning instead of Wednesday night mainly because the traffic out of Raleigh towards the beach is BAD on the Wednesday before turkey day – last year it was awful trying to get to the ‘Boro (Swansboro for those of you not in the “know”) – a 2 and 1/2 hour trip took us nearly 4 hours last year….no, not happening.

Got to the ‘Boro, hung with Mom who managed to not say anything inappropriate or mean to me (she did call Hubby “shit for brains” or something close, I didn’t actually hear all of what she said), and we headed over to the family’s house for dinner.  We ate, drank, played board games, went home, went to bed and were back in Holly Springs by 3:30 on Friday afternoon.  I call it “Tag Team Turkey Day” – get in, get out, get it over with.

It was awesome.

Spent the rest of the weekend in my jammies, cleaning house, making our own turkey, destroying stuffing (don’t ask), shopping online, sleeping until noon (for some reason I am super-duper tired, my stomach is sick and I’m hot all the time – probably food poisoning or early menopause) and going to see “Twilight” (you will be sadly disappointed).

Only cried twice and no one asked me what I am “thankful” for this year.

I survived.

Now, just to get through Christmas……..

2 Responses to “Survived Thanksgiving”

  1. whataboutmyeggs Says:

    Glad to hear you had a good time. I like the idea of “tag team turkey day.” 🙂

  2. KB Says:

    Glad I didn’t see Twilight. You’re the second person, whose opinion I value, who said it wasn’t as good as the book.

    That series is SO popular w/ our students. I just lent my preview copy to my cousin who si in 8th grade. I was told she read it that same night by flashlight, Since I’m a librarian I sometimes get preview copies of books before they are published. It is cool in a geeky kind of way.


Leave a Reply

