Relief and Thanks.

November 14, 2008

First of all, thank you to everyone who commented on my last post.  I was so shocked by my reaction that I couldn’t see clearly to realize that it was a perfectly natural reaction.  You all made me realize that I wasn’t over reacting, it was okay to say, “no, not this year.”  As several of you pointed out, it’s not “selfish” to take care of me.  As soon as I sent out my “thanks but no thanks” email, I felt immediately better.  It was like a huge weight had been lifted off of me and the anxiousness that I had been struggle with was immediately gone.  I was honest as to why I felt I couldn’t participate and the response I got was very supportive and positive.  Not that I had a doubt that it would be nothing but kind words but it’s always scary to tell people about something so personal (of course, I broadcast my life for the world on this blog but…).

I want Quincy to complete his therapy dog training at the beginning of the year and I agree with Kelly, that will be a good use of my time if I do need a “distraction.”

Thanks again.

2 Responses to “Relief and Thanks.”

  1. KB Says:

    Yay! Good for you. I totally relate to your nervousness and anxiety about being asked to do something, wanting to do it, but feeling like, “OMG!!! How can I do this now?” I was being asked to teach a couple extra classes this year and I really wanted to, but it was freaking me out so much just thinking about managing it while trying to manage this new self of mine. Finally, I had to be honest w/ myself and to decline. Like you, I also had to expose my innermost reasons why – which was scary – but I did it and it was a BIG relief. And my response was well received and understood. It does help when we decline to a supportive community.

    I am proud of you.

  2. Maricel Says:

    Funny how our dogs could save our days…they are there, as you’ve said, as “distraction.” And how lucky are these dogs because they get to feel our love, meant first and foremost to babies who are hard to come by.


Leave a Reply

