My Dreams Have A Sense of Humor….

October 20, 2008

Have you ever woken up and wanted to beat the crap out of your husband for something he did in your dream?  Yeah, me too.

I took a nap Sunday afternoon (because it was a long weekend after the State Farm, the Farmer’s Market, and it was cold – I’m allowed) and I had a dream.  I dreamed that I went into the living room, picked up my adorable 18 month old little GIRL with curly dark hair and big blue eyes (it could actually happen – both my mother and my SIL have black hair) and noticed that she had a tattoo on the back of her neck (oh wait people, that’s not even the reason I got mad).  The tattoo was her name in that cursive script that you see in a lot of stereo-typical images on Mexican gang-bangers (maybe it’s true, I don’t know any gang-bangers personally).  But it wasn’t the name that Hubby and I had agreed on or had been calling her for the last 18 months.  Hubby had our little girl tattooed with the name, “Lucia Marie.” 

WHAT!!??!

First, he tattooed our child.  His reason was so that he could find her on the playground.  And I was mad about that, of course.  But more importantly (to my dream self) was that he named her “Lucia Marie.”  When we were deciding on baby names (in real life), we agreed that no one’s middle name would be “Marie…”  Sorry on all you “Maries” out there, it’s just a middle name that I don’t enjoy.  I personally think there are more creative middle names than “Marie” or “Lynn” or “Jane.”  And “Lucia?” I mean really, it’s a nice name and all but we are Polish.  It’s a little off.

So just to recap, I was angry about the tattooing but I was livid about the name he tattooed on our child.  Very funny.

Needless to say, when I woke up, I punched Hubby in the arm and told him if he was going to tattoo our daughter’s name on the back of her neck so that he could easily locate her on the playground, it had better be a name that we both agreed on and for Christ’s sake, her middle name had better not be “Marie” or he was a dead man.

He just looked at his nutso wife and smiled and said, “what’s for dinner?”

One Response to “My Dreams Have A Sense of Humor….”

  1. jenn Says:

    Hubby is definitely a keeper …


Leave a Reply

