5 Things for 30 Days

October 17, 2008

My friend Frankie is just about the sweetest, kindest person I know.  She has such a good heart and is such a great friend, mother and wife, I am very lucky to know her.  She just posted an entry about undoing bad habits (http://lilactreedelights.blogspot.com/2008/10/30-days.html) that she perceives that she has.  I say “perceives” because I think she is perfect the way she is but let’s face it, we all have things that we don’t like about ourselves.  We can blame our parents, our childhood or that boss who makes us feel worthless but in the end, if we do nothing about it, the way we feel is on us.

Frankie has decided that there are 5 things that she wants to change in the next 30 days and I have decided to play along so here are my 5 things.

                1) No more surfing the Internet for conception advice.  I won’t do it, it makes me crazy and the fallout lasts for days;

                2) No more sneak peeks at the nursery when no one is home.  It’s not healthy and again, the emotional fallout lasts for days;

                3) I will call one friend a week and not someone that I speak to all the time, someone who I have not spoken to in months;

                4) I will meditate 3 times a week on my own; and finally,

                5) I will try and get one of my essays published by sending out 2 letters a week to different publishers.

My reward (because I am not as good as Frankie and won’t accept “personal gratification” as my reward) will be a new pair of pants or jeans.

Who’s with me on this?

4 Responses to “5 Things for 30 Days”

  1. Frances Says:

    I’m so honored that you would do this with me. I cannot express what it means to me. So I’ll turn to Proust

    “Let us be grateful to people who make us happy; they are the charming gardeners who make our souls blossom.”

    You my dear friend make me very happy.

  2. Freda Says:

    Hi Martha! Haven’t been here in a while! I like the idea of 5 things for 30 days. I have some thinking to do if I’m gonna participate!

    I’d like to meet your friend Frankie. I checked out her blog and she seems like good people 🙂

  3. KB Says:

    This is a really good post and idea! My list should begin, “No more reading about preeclampsia on the Internet.”

    My meditation class begins on Sunday (10/26) and I am so glad – not that I can’t meditate at home – but I haven’t in a week and it is SO obvious, b/c I am a MESS! Just a total wreck.

    Thank you for the extra good post! I need a gratitude list too.

  4. Maricel Says:

    I like this idea of “5 Things for 30 Days.” I have to do some thinking so I can have my own list. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

